skip to main content
Mississippi Philosophical Association
University of Mississippi


Adopted in 1950
1. Name. The Mississippi Philosophy Association [amended to “Mississippi Philosophical
Association” in 1990].
2. Purpose. The purpose of the MPA shall be to increase the understanding and appreciation of
philosophy; to encourage research and advance the standards and ideals of the teaching of
philosophy; and to cultivate an interest in and study of philosophy in the Mississippi institutions of
higher learning through the exchange of ideas and the discussion of common problems.
3. Membership. Membership shall be elective as set forth in the by-laws of this association. [See
note in By-Laws]
4. Dues. The dues shall be fixed by a majority vote of the active members present in regular
5. Officers. The Officers shall be President, Vice-president, and Secretary-treasurer. Nomination,
election, duties, and terms of these officers shall be stated in the by-laws. The officers shall serve as
the executive board of the association.
6. Meetings. MPA shall meet annually, some time during the meeting of MEA, in Jackson. [The
relationship with the Mississippi Education Association was severed around 1967.]
7. Amendments. This constitution may be amended by a two-thirds majority vote of active members
present at any regular meeting, provided that notification shall be made at the previous annual
meeting, or in writing at least four weeks prior to such regular meeting.


1. Membership. There shall be two classes of membership, active and associate. Active membership
shall consist of three classes: (1) Those who have a formal education in philosophy. (2) College
administrators and teachers of philosophy. (3) Anyone who submits a paper which shall demonstrate
his [or her] insight into philosophy and his [or her] commitment to the laws of evidence. The
Executive Board shall determine whether or not a candidate has met any of these requirements and
recommend his [or her] election.
Associate membership shall be open to all who are interested in philosophy, whether connected
with academic work or not. All membership shall be upon nomination by active members,
approval of the Executive Board, and election by a majority vote of the members present at
regular meeting.
[Since at least 1987 there have not been formal nominations or elections of either type of
2. Officers. The officers of the association shall be elected by ballot at the regular annual meeting
upon nomination of a committee appointed by the president. Further nominations may be made from
the floor. Election may be by acclamation in case there is only one nomination. The officers shall
have the usual duties associated with those offices. In addition, the Vice-president shall be chairman
[i.e. chairperson] of the Program Committee, which he [or she] may appoint.
3. Quorum. A quorum shall consist of the active members present at any regular meeting.
4. Dues. Dues shall be two dollars per year for both active and associate members [raised to five
dollars in 1967 and ten dollars in 1983]. Dues shall be paid to the Secretary-treasurer.
–edited and posted May 6, 2005 by Steven G. Smith (Secretary-Treasurer 1987-2007)